Home » Great Britain 2013 » Great Britain 2013: Travelogue Introduction

Great Britain 2013: Travelogue Introduction

Image

In February 2012, my BFF since second grade, Amy, asked me to join her on a celebratory trip to Europe. After months of consideration, Clay and I made a budget and I accepted her invitation. Over the next year and a half, Clay dutifully stashed money in an account earmarked for my trip, while Amy and I made plans for tours, lodging and attractions.

On July 9, 2013 Clay dropped me off at the airport in Houston to begin my first ever trip overseas just for fun. I had no idea what an amazing time we would have! Amy and I are both literary and history NERDS. Certifiable. We geeked out at royal residences that have seen centuries of monarchs; wandered battle fields imagining the fictitious characters we have come to love roaming the moors; walked and dined in the same locales that Jane Austen once graced and wrote about; stood a few feet from the red carpet that Hugh Jackman walked for the new Wolverine premier; and so so much more!

While we were abroad I kept a journal and forced myself to write in it every night. No, I am finally getting around to publicly chronicling the trip. I hope you enjoy the glimpse of our fun as much as I’ll enjoy re-living it as I type. There will be lots of pictures!

Image

Amy, thank you for including me in this amazing trip. You did an incredible job of planning and mapping so that we got the most out of our short time on that little island. There is so much to see and do, I know we just scratched the surface…but geez we covered a lot of ground! I love you and am so thankful that our friendship has endured for so many years. I look forward to returning to Bath with our daughters one day!

Clay, thank you so much for being my financial adviser and making this happen! You lead our family so well in this area and I am truly thankful. Knowing that this trip was fully paid for up front due to your careful budgeting made it possible to totally enjoy my time, relaxed and not concerned about lingering bills. Thank you for praying over me in the airport and while I was gone. Thank you for getting me checked in and even attempting to upgrade me on the way home. I love you!

5 thoughts on “Great Britain 2013: Travelogue Introduction

  1. Pingback: Great Britain 2013: Days 1-2 | life with the dixons

  2. Pingback: Great Britain 2013: Day 3 | life with the dixons

  3. Pingback: Great Britain 2013: Day 4 | life with the dixons

  4. Pingback: Great Britain 2013: Day 5 | life with the dixons

  5. Pingback: Great Britain Day 6: Stonehenge & Alton | life with the dixons

Leave a comment